The Tennessee Law Course is a mandatory online course on Tennessee-specific law that takes approximately 7.5 hours. The TLC is one of several requirements that must be completed prior to approval for licensing and admission. The course does not have to be completed in one session but it is recommended that you use the same device for the entire course. The course works best on a desktop, laptop or pad.
The TLC will be made available to applicants seeking admission:
- under section 3.01 (by examination) within 10 days after completion of the bar examination; or
- under section 3.05 (transferred UBE score), section 5.01 (without examination) or section 10.06 (spouse of military servicemember) within 5 business days of approval of their application by the Board.
To access the Tennessee Law Course, an applicant must complete the TLC registration application in Synergy. Payment may be made online or by mailing a check or money order to the BLE office at 511 Union Street, Suite 525, Nashville, TN 37219. Online payments will include a separate transaction for the service charge/convenience fee.
Within 5 business days of submitting payment, applicants will receive an email with LOGIN and PASSWORD access to the TLC.
Below are outlines Supplementing the material included in the Tennessee Law Course:
As provided in Tennessee Supreme Court Rule 7, Sec. 10.07(g), the Tennessee Law Course must be completed within one year of the date that an applicant completes all other requirements to be eligible for a Tennessee law license. If an applicant does not complete all requirements within a year of completion of the TLC, the applicant must repeat the TLC to be eligible for admission.